Monster Magnet’s Spine of God 20th Anniversary Tour

If you have never heard the legendary Monster Magnet album Spine of God, then you are in for a treat. Monster Magnet have scheduled a European tour for November this year to celebrate 20 years of the release of this mammoth album that is stuffed full of crunching stoner rock and acid drenched psychedelic delights. Put this in your dairy today.

Monday 12 Nov Norway, Bergen
Tuesday 13 Nov Norway, Hagesund
Wednesday 14 Nov Norway, Oslo
Friday 16 Nov Finland, Tampere
Saturday 17 Nov Norway, Helsinki
Monday 19 Nov Sweden, Linkoping
Tuesday 20 Nov Germany, Hamburg
Wednesday 21 Nov France, Paris
Friday 23 Nov UK, London
Saturday 24 Nov UK, Manchester

Monday 26 Nov Germany, Stuttgart
Tuesday 27 Nov Austria, Vienna
Thursday 29 Nov Switzerland, Pratteln
Friday 30 Nov Switzerland, Zurich
Saturday 01 Dez Germany, Erfurt
Monday 03 Dec Germany, Aschaffenburg
Tuesday 04 Dec Germany, Saarbrucken
Thursday 06 Dec Germany, Krefeld
Friday 07 Dec Belgium, Brussels
Saturday 08 Dec Holland, Einhoven

White Fence

Is Growing Faith
Woodsist Records

whitefence_isgrowingfaithIf you have been following our albums of the year in the last few years then you would remember that Darker My Love albums have always made it into the Top 10. Tim Presley, the songwriter from that band cannot stop writing and it’s his latest album project on Woodsist that is this week’s recomendation if you dig your psychedelic folk and nuggets rock.

Presley has an ability to drag your attention back into the golden days of classic songwriting and warm production values, taking hits with the greats from past generations such from Pink Floyd and 13th Floor Elevators, to Love and The Remains. White Fence is his 3rd project following Darker My Love and The Strange Boys which dips its laid back, rock and roll roots into a warped world of reverbed guitars, psychedelic noise and lo-fi, dream streams.

The album kicks off with the tweaked guitar riffs of ‘And By Always’ that conjures the very best of Westernised, (a band fronted by songwriter Colin MacIntyre more famous for his Mull Historical Society project) mixed with the sounds of old Santa Cruz Skateboards video soundtracks. It’s fascinating just how prolific this guy is, year in year out. It’s like he doesn’t sleep and instead, sits up, smokes bongs and becomes the 5th Beatle when it suits. Presley delves into Beatles-esque dittys that feel like they have been forced through a blender with a bunch of 70’s flowers and Tame Impala’s reverb-splashed vocals. The end result takes you back in time, but only to the goodtimes. The ones that you only remember when the sky’s are awash with sunbeams, captured on 8mm tapes and look burnt at the edges.

The haters out there who reckon Presley just wants to live out the John Lennon and Paul McCartney phenomenon can be heard all over the internet but once you get past the obvious influences on this record, it’s hard to not give credit where it’s due. Mainly because Is Growing Faith is another well crafted production from a man who obsesses on delivering some darn good tunes that always have a plethora of musical surprises.

If you dig the likes of Ganglians, Deerhoof, The Shutes, Kelley Stoltz and obviously Darker My Love then give this a spin. It oozes psychedelic delight and would be accompanied well with a double dip tab of the best sheets in town. Have a taster from this fan made video clip.