Music News

Mercury Music Prize nominations announced

DizzeeTwo former winners of the prestigious prize are up for nomination again, strengthening the thoughts the the prize just ain’t what it used to be.

Last year’s winners, the Arctic Monkeys, and 2003’s winner Dizzee Rascal are both up for the award again along with boozehound beehive Amy Winehouse, Oxford’s finest chaps the Young Knives, nu-rave or whatever it’s called kings the Klaxons, recent Crossfire interviewee’s Bat For Lashes, and for some inexplicable reason, the New Young Pony Club.

The full shortlist for the award, to announced at the Grosvneor in September, goes as follows:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’
Klaxons – ‘Myths Of The Near Future’
Amy Winehouse – ‘Back To Black’
Maps – ‘We Can Create’
The View – ‘Hats Off To The Buskers’
Jamie T – ‘Panic Prevention’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths & English’
Bat For Lashes – ‘Fur And Gold’
Young Knives – ‘Voices of Animals And Men’
Fionn Regan – ‘The End Of History’
New Young Pony Club – ‘Fantastic Playroom’
Basquiat Strings – ‘Basquiat Strings’

Good luck all.