Music News

Arctic Monkeys win Ivor Novello

Arctic Monkeys picked up the Album Award at the Ivor Novello’s for their debut album Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not.

Other winners included Amy Winehouse for Best Contemporary Song [Rehab], Peter Gabriel getting the lifetime achievement award and Quincy Jones, who picked up the International Award. The list of winners is:

International Hit Of The Year: Madonna, ‘Sorry
Album Award: Arctic Monkeys, ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
Best Contemporary Song: Amy Winehouse, ‘Rehab
Best Television Soundtrack: Martin Phipps, ‘The Virgin Queen
Best Selling UK single: Leona Lewis, ‘A Moment Like This
Outstanding Song Collection: Yusuf Islam
The Ivors Classical Music Award: John Rutter CBE
PRS Most Performed Work: Scissor Sisters, ‘I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’
Best Original Film Score: John Powell, ‘Ice Age The Meltdown
PRS Outstanding Contribution to British Music: Norman Cook
Best Song Musically & Lyrically: Scott Matthews, ‘Elusive
Songwriters Of The Year: The Feeling
Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Gabriel
The Special International Award: Quincy Jones
The Academy Fellowship: George Fenton