Album Reviews Buzz Chart Music


We Don’t Even Live Here
(Rhymesayers Entertainment)

pos_we_dont_even_live_hereIt had been a little while since the last album from Minnesota’s P.O.S but, like all the best artists, the wait was well worth it. His new album, ‘We Don’t Even Live Here’, is the natural progression from its predecessor, ‘Never Better’, seeing the rapper embrace the electronic side of music that he loves whilst maintaining his punk rock ethics, melding them into another powerful statement against authority.

From the opening track Bumper, where fuzzed distortion and thunderous drums smash through the speakers, Stefon Alexander lays down his values – “They on some nonsense, we on some non-stop”. He loves his family, his crew and his friends, he hates being told what he should do and how he should live within walls and his lyrics get right to the root of the problem. His greatest triumph on this record however is that he delivers his ideas without becoming a preacher, it’s not tired and it doesn’t feel like you’ve heard it all before.

There is plenty for hip hop heads to get involved with too, ‘Fuck Your Stuff’ reps his crew brilliantly on a ridiculously big beat, ‘Wanted/Wasted”s beat has a classic Doomtree sound and the stripped-down ‘Lockpicks, Knives, Bricks and Bats’ could easily find itself on earlier P.O.S. albums, sonically speaking. The variety never stunts to flow of the record either, the Bon Iver assisted ‘How We Land‘ is the standout track and ‘Get Down’ three-quarters of the way through the album is as big a dance track as you’ll hear all year.

We love P.O.S., always have, always will and when he drops albums like this, it’s hard to see that ever stopping. The chorus line from Get Down sums it up perfectly:

“No-one gives a fuck about shit, so fuck your shit, we fuck shit up cos shit’s fucked anyway, shit is run into the ground (I know right?), I don’t wanna think about it, I just wanna get down”

So what are you waiting for? Get down then!


Music Music News

P.O.S. ‘We Don’t Even Live Here’ Album Details

Punk philosopher, rapper and co-founder of Doomtree, Stefon Alexander, aka P.O.S has announced details of his latest record ‘We Don’t Even Live Here’ which will be released via Rhymesayers Entertainment on November 05th.

The album features a star-studded line up with Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Lazerbeak, Cecil Otter, Mike Mictlan, and Sims joining in for the ride. The album was taken care of by all-star producer and mix engineer Andrew Dawson who has worked on platinum releases from the likes of Kanye West, Jay-Z, Beyonce, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne and Fun.

The new album has been gracing our stereo for some time and it’s beyond good. Read our thoughts on Bumper.

P.O.S. discusses his work in more detail in the vid below. The track listing is as follows:

01. Bumper
02. Fuck Your Stuff
03. Where We Land (feat. Justin Vernon)
04. Wanted/Wasted (feat. Astronautalis)
05. They Can’t Come (feat. Sims)
06. Lockpicks, Knives, Bricks and Bats
07. Arrow To The Action/Fire In The Hole
08. Get Down (feat. Mike Mictlan)
09. All Of It
10. We Don’t Even Live Here (Weird Friends)
11. Piano Hits

Buzz Chart Single Reviews


Rhymesayers Entertainment/Doomtree Records

P.O.SIt’s been over three years since P.O.S dropped his last album, the superb Never Better but he’s been a busy guy. Not content with making his own records, Stefon Alexander has been involved with his crew Doomtree’s last album, the brilliantly titled group Marijuana Death Squads and guests spots for artists as eclectic as Gayngs and Dark Time Sunshine, so we can forgive him for taking his time over the new album.

Having heard a new track live when Doomtree supported Yelawolf in London earlier this year, his love of electronic music came to the fore with the bouncing beats kicking the crowd into a frenzy and with Bumper, another track from his upcoming full-length We Don’t Even Live Here, that influence is continued. The pounding drums lay the foundation for a track which on which the rapper boasts “they on some nonsense, we on some non-stop” as the jarring chorus melody and unrelenting bassline do the rest.

If this is a sign of what’s to come from the Minneapolitan, then 2012 is going to be an even bigger year for hip hop. Check out the video of Stef performing the track live and see how long you can last without pressing the reply button. We bet it won’t be more than five seconds.