[Run For Cover Records]

For only their second album, Basement’s ‘Colourmeinkindness’ oozes with maturity and sophistication. After just one play through its timeless nature is overwhelming, you sense you’ve have heard it before, but not in a negative, generic way; more in the sense that it has the overall feel of a classic.

The rasping vocals and chugging riffs of opener ‘Whole’ kick the record off to a great start and what’s most pleasing is that the rest of the album is just as strong. Although ‘Covert’ drops the tempo, the level of emotion rises as surly lyrics drone over the music in an almost Nirvana-esque style. It’d be easy to analyze each track positively, every song on the album is beautiful. But it’s lead single ‘Spoiled’ that sums up ‘Colourmeinkindness’ in all its glory. The engaging vocals delivered in a soothing nature contrast against a guitar tone reminiscent of Sunny Day Real Estate and Silverchair. ‘Spoiled’ and ‘Colourmeinkindness’ as a whole provide a breath-taking juxtaposition between peace and rage.

With Thrice leaving a void that needed to be filled by a modern emo/post-hardcore band, Basement look like the perfect contender. However after announcing a shock indefinite hiatus which will commence after the release of ‘Colourmeinkindness’ we are again left waiting for the next king to take to the genre’s throne.

It’d be fair to say Basement have made an impact on many hearts in a short amount of time. ‘Colourmeinkindess’ sends them out on an undeniable high leaving one to contemplate what great things this band could achieve if a future was still ahead of them.

Words: Emma Wallace

Thrice Reveal ‘Anthology’ Details

Thrice (who are currently on a hiatus after 13 years and eight full-length releases) have announced details of several pre-order packages for their forthcoming live recording, ‘Anthology’.. The record features 24 songs from their ‘Farewell Tour’ and will be available digitally, on two CDs, and as a limited edition box set containing four LP’s. The LP box set is limited to just 3000 stamped and numbered pieces and will include a 24-page photo booklet along with 2 black LP’s and 2 white LP’s all on 180 gram vinyl.

Drummer Riley Breckenridge stated:

“Is a live record that is truly live. There are no overdubs, no edits and no pitch corrections. We wanted this to be an honest and accurate representation of a show from our Farewell Tour and a memento for our fans, and that’s exactly what it is.”

‘Anthology’ track listing:
1. Yellow Belly
2. Image of the Invisible
3. The Artist In The Ambulance
4. Kill Me Quickly
5. Under A Killing Moon
6. Silhouette
7. In Exile
8. The Weight
9. Promises
10. Daedalus
11. Words In The Water
12. Of Dust And Nations
13. Red Sky
14. The Earth Will Shake
15. The Messenger
16. Digital Sea
17. Stare At The Sun
18. Deadbolt
19. To Awake And Avenge The Dead
20. Beggars
21. Come All You Weary
22. Phoenix Ignition
23. T & C
24. Anthology

Fans are able to per-order ‘Anthology’ here.

Thrice announce new album tracklist

Thrice have announced the tracklisting for their seventh studio album, Major/Minor.

The album, which follows up Beggars from 2009, is released on September 19th and the tracklisting is below. You can also check out the track Yellow Belly on the SoundCloud.

‘Yellow Belly’
‘Call It In The Air’
‘Treading Paper’
‘Words In The Water’
‘Listen Through Me’

Thrice – Yellow Belly by VagrantRecords