Music News

Incoming: ‘Diplo Presents Dubstep’

The constantly genre-hopping producer extraordinaire Diplo has compiled a definitively vast collection of dubstep that is set to be released in the UK on November 29th through Mad Decent/Co-op. It will be the first volume in the labels new ‘Blow Your Head‘ series of compilations.

The hand-picked compilation purposefully refuses to answer the frequently asked question ‘just what is dubstep?’ The variety in Diplo’s favourites looks set to dispell any genre stereotypes and open up many to a world of music that has bubbled, wobbled, scuttled, bounced, bleeped and buzzed throughout London and the world during the last decade.

The album linear notes sees Diplo fondly describe dubstep as “a sort of great nephew to Reggae”, the bastard child of Dub that took influence from Jungle and Dancehall and then “ran away to do drugs in London and start a band with no money, just a laptop with a few cracked programs it found on torrent sites.”

The tracklisting (previously unreleased tracks are marked *) is as follows:

01. Joker & Ginz: Re-Up
02. Major Lazer feat. Mr Lexx & Santigold: Hold The Line (Skream Remix)*
03. DZ: Down
04. Diplo feat. Lil Jon: U Don’t Like Me (Datsik Remix)*
05. Zomby: Strange Fruit
06. Brackles: Glazed
07. Jessica Mauboy: Burn (Stenchman Remix)*
08. Doctor P: Sweet Shop
09. Rusko: Cockney Thug (Caspa Remix)
10. Untold: Stop What You’re Doing (James Blake Remix)
11. Borgore feat. Diplo: Sunset
12. James Blake: Sparing The Horse
13. Benga: 26 Basslines
14. Little Jinder: Youth Blood (12th Planet & Flinch Remix)
15. Rudi Zygadlo: Resealable Friendship (Starkey Remix)
16. Rusko feat. Amber Coffman: Hold On (Subfocus Remix)