Music News

Ceremony announce new album


Ceremony have returned with their fifth album, The L Shaped Man for May 19th via Matador. The band are streaming their latest cut, ‘The Separation’ & ‘The Understanding’, now on YouTube, but it’s a far cry from their brutal hardcore roots.

We’ve always tried to be minimalists in writing, even if it’s loud or fast or abrasive,” says lead guitarist Anthony Anzaldo of their comparatively stripped back approach to making this record than their previous four. The L Shaped Man is said to use singer Ross Farrar’s recent breakup as a platform to explore loneliness and emotional weariness, but it is by no means a purely inward and melancholic album. “It’s really intense when I hear it. Not in a way where you turn everything up to ten. Things are so bare, you’re holding this one note for so long and you don’t now where it’s going, to me, that’s intensity,” Anzaldo adds.

Watch the new music video for ‘The Separation’ & ‘The Understanding’ here and check out the album track listing below.

Track Listing

1. Hibernation
2. Exit Fears
3. Bleeder
4. Your Life In France
5. Your Life In America
6. The Separation
7. The Pattern
8. Root Of The World
9. The Party
10. The Bridge
11. The Understanding