Music News

The Beastie Boys go instrumental

The Beastie Boys have given out more details about their upcoming new album.

The Mix-Up is scheduled for a June release and will be totally sample-free with no vocals whatsoever according to reports. The album will feature the trio on drums, guitar and bass with keyboard player and honourary Beastie Boy Money Mark joining them. Of the new album, Mike D said:

“But as different as [it] might be from To The 5 Boroughs, it’s equally different from instrumental songs we’ve done before, like the ones that were on The In Sound From Way Out! That was kind of one direction and this one [has] different influences, like Public Image Ltd., Gang of Four, the Slits, Killing Joke.”

The tracklisting is:

1. B For My Name
2. 14th St. Break
3. Suco De Tangerina
4. The Gala Event
5. Electric Worm
6. Freaky Hijiki
7. Off The Grid
8. The Rat Cage
9. The Melee
10. Dramastically Different
11. The Cousin Of Death
12. The Kangaroo Rat